I am. You are. Beautiful!

Today I searched what the meaning of beauty is. It read, “a combination of qualities, such as shape, colour, or form, that pleases the aesthetic senses, especially the sight…” I don’t know how to react to such an answer. Although it clearly states a definition, I still don’t know what it means.

All my life (and I know it’s not much) I known beauty to be light skin, flawless smooth and silky hair and obviously the major one…skinny.

Y’all know several things about me already…let me tell you more.20160527_204239

I am five foot one, and I weigh 175 pounds. In other words, doctor wise and health wise I am obese. Yet, when I look at myself in the mirror, I see a chubby person. Not fat. I see a beautiful women. If I do a checklist, everything would be marked off.

But it’s because of that definition, that I am always thinking that I am not pretty. I want to be acknowledged and told that I am pretty. I am so needy.

The closest thing I’ve gotten to a compliment was “You ain’t too big. You ain’t too small, but you just the right size.” That moment, I thought what a creep?!, but for a tiny small second, I liked it. I never been told that I was pretty, beautiful, hot, or sexy, so I guess for me that was something big.

20160730_144634However, now I know that wasn’t something that should have been said or ever be said. Women SHOULD  be told that they are pretty and beautiful but in a good way, not a creepy Chicago guy sort of way. But if nobody tells you, don’t get desperate and get happy when someone says something that pervy type of remark to you. Just think to yourself, “I am beautiful!” Your own voice and opinion should matter. I’ll try to follow my own advice from now on. I won’t let someone ever say that to me again.

Leave a Reply

